Three countries will adopt the South Korean health insurance system

Korean National health insurance service (NHIC) has announced that its health insurance system will be adopted by three African countries: Ghana, Ethiopia and Tanzania. This initiative is part of an ODA (official development assistance) project launched since 2013 by the NHIC and the Korean insurance supervision agency, Health Insurance Review Agency (HIRA).

Employees of the Ghanaian and Ethiopian health insurance fund have already undergone an introductory course to the new system. By December, Ghana will start a pilot project aimed at increasing the number of members while Ethiopia may introduce the health insurance system in corporates by 2016. Meanwhile, Tanzania is still trying to introduce an insurance health system similar to that of South Korea.

Your rating: None
Advertising Program          Terms of Service          Copyright          Useful links          Social networks          Credits